Search Free VIN check

Guide

Nissan Rogue years to avoid: 2013, 2017-2018 and 2023 in NHTSA data

The 2023 Rogue leads 17 model years with 733 NHTSA complaints, 573 of them filed since Oct. 12, 2024; the table gives every year's recall campaigns and complaints reporting a crash or fire.

Checked against 28 sources (28 primary)

Last updated · Updated · 16 min read

complaints to NHTSA by model year 2008–2024
20082024733 in 2023

Highest year in amber. Every year, with sources · Download this chart (PNG)

Quick answer

Check four years hardest: the 2023 (407 engine complaints), the 2017 (57 complaints reporting a crash), the 2018 (264 service-brake complaints) and the 2013 (276 mentioning the CVT or transmission). Check the 2022 too: it shares the 2023's VC-Turbo engine complaint pattern on a smaller scale, with 183 engine complaints, and is in recall 25V-437.

The 2020 has the fewest complaints (152) and the 2024 the next fewest (212), but a low count clears neither. Whatever the year, run the VIN and confirm any recall repair before you buy.

At a glance

  • Fewest complaints

    152

    Model year: 2020

    complaints to NHTSA [21]

  • Most recall campaigns

    10

    Model year: 20212014

    recall campaigns [21]

Figures by model year; the highest in each column is marked
Model yearComplaints to NHTSARecall campaignsCrash or fire reportedReports filed since Oct. 12, 2024
202421247204
2023733 (highest)625573 (highest)
202226566178
202129010 (highest)24150
202015211646
201933632853
201866833784
2017599565 (highest)79
201654173763
201555393858
201444010 (highest)3126
201361012925
201231821912
20113622239
20102822271
20093203102
20084295136

The highest value in each column is marked in amber. Raw counts, not adjusted for sales.

All 68 figures, with sources
Key facts
2008 Nissan Rogue: complaints to NHTSA429
2008 Nissan Rogue: recall campaigns5
2008 Nissan Rogue: crash or fire reported13
2008 Nissan Rogue: reports filed since Oct. 12, 20246
2009 Nissan Rogue: complaints to NHTSA320
2009 Nissan Rogue: recall campaigns3
2009 Nissan Rogue: crash or fire reported10
2009 Nissan Rogue: reports filed since Oct. 12, 20242
2010 Nissan Rogue: complaints to NHTSA282
2010 Nissan Rogue: recall campaigns2
2010 Nissan Rogue: crash or fire reported27
2010 Nissan Rogue: reports filed since Oct. 12, 20241
2011 Nissan Rogue: complaints to NHTSA362
2011 Nissan Rogue: recall campaigns2
2011 Nissan Rogue: crash or fire reported23
2011 Nissan Rogue: reports filed since Oct. 12, 20249
2012 Nissan Rogue: complaints to NHTSA318
2012 Nissan Rogue: recall campaigns2
2012 Nissan Rogue: crash or fire reported19
2012 Nissan Rogue: reports filed since Oct. 12, 202412
2013 Nissan Rogue: complaints to NHTSA610
2013 Nissan Rogue: recall campaigns1
2013 Nissan Rogue: crash or fire reported29
2013 Nissan Rogue: reports filed since Oct. 12, 202425
2014 Nissan Rogue: complaints to NHTSA440
2014 Nissan Rogue: recall campaigns10
2014 Nissan Rogue: crash or fire reported31
2014 Nissan Rogue: reports filed since Oct. 12, 202426
2015 Nissan Rogue: complaints to NHTSA553
2015 Nissan Rogue: recall campaigns9
2015 Nissan Rogue: crash or fire reported38
2015 Nissan Rogue: reports filed since Oct. 12, 202458
2016 Nissan Rogue: complaints to NHTSA541
2016 Nissan Rogue: recall campaigns7
2016 Nissan Rogue: crash or fire reported37
2016 Nissan Rogue: reports filed since Oct. 12, 202463
2017 Nissan Rogue: complaints to NHTSA599
2017 Nissan Rogue: recall campaigns5
2017 Nissan Rogue: crash or fire reported65
2017 Nissan Rogue: reports filed since Oct. 12, 202479
2018 Nissan Rogue: complaints to NHTSA668
2018 Nissan Rogue: recall campaigns3
2018 Nissan Rogue: crash or fire reported37
2018 Nissan Rogue: reports filed since Oct. 12, 202484
2019 Nissan Rogue: complaints to NHTSA336
2019 Nissan Rogue: recall campaigns3
2019 Nissan Rogue: crash or fire reported28
2019 Nissan Rogue: reports filed since Oct. 12, 202453
2020 Nissan Rogue: complaints to NHTSA152
2020 Nissan Rogue: recall campaigns1
2020 Nissan Rogue: crash or fire reported16
2020 Nissan Rogue: reports filed since Oct. 12, 202446
2021 Nissan Rogue: complaints to NHTSA290
2021 Nissan Rogue: recall campaigns10
2021 Nissan Rogue: crash or fire reported24
2021 Nissan Rogue: reports filed since Oct. 12, 2024150
2022 Nissan Rogue: complaints to NHTSA265
2022 Nissan Rogue: recall campaigns6
2022 Nissan Rogue: crash or fire reported6
2022 Nissan Rogue: reports filed since Oct. 12, 2024178
2023 Nissan Rogue: complaints to NHTSA733
2023 Nissan Rogue: recall campaigns6
2023 Nissan Rogue: crash or fire reported25
2023 Nissan Rogue: reports filed since Oct. 12, 2024573
2024 Nissan Rogue: complaints to NHTSA212
2024 Nissan Rogue: recall campaigns4
2024 Nissan Rogue: crash or fire reported7
2024 Nissan Rogue: reports filed since Oct. 12, 2024204

Source for every row: source 21.

A black 2023 Nissan Rogue SV compact SUV parked at a kerb in front of a red brick building, seen from the front left
Photo: Mr.choppers / Wikimedia Commons, CC BY-SA 3.0 (cropped)LicenceSource

Rogue complaints and recent filings, 2008 to 2024

The table below gives each model year's complaints and recall campaigns from NHTSA's public API on Oct. 12, 2026. It also counts complaints reporting a crash or a fire, and complaints filed since Oct. 12, 2024.

Of the 1,569 complaints filed since Oct. 12, 2024, on any 2008-2024 Rogue, 1,105 concern the 2021-2024 models. The 2023 has 573 of its 733 complaints in that window, the most of any year. The 2024 has 204 of its 212, or 96.2 percent; Nissan put it on sale in early 2024, so most of its time with owners falls inside the window. The six 2008-2013 model years drew 55 recent complaints between them.

Model years six Nissan Rogue recalls in this guide cover (not every campaign)

The VC-Turbo recalls overlap: the 2024 Rogue is listed in 25V-437, 26V-080 and 26V-081, the 2022 in 25V-437 alone.

Model years six Nissan Rogue recalls in this guide cover (not every campaign)Range chart: Rogue model years covered by six selected NHTSA recall campaigns named in this guide, not every campaign, 2008-2025; certain 2024 Rogues fall in 25V-437, 26V-080 and 26V-081. The year table and a VIN check give every campaign.201020152020202515V-0322008–2013 · Wire harness; also 2014 Rogue Select22V-0242014–2016 · Under-dash connector corrosion23V-0932014–2020 · Folding (jackknife) key25V-4372021–2024 · VC-Turbo bearings; 2021: run the VIN26V-0802023–2025 · VC-Turbo engine, expands 25V-43726V-0812024–2025 · VC-Turbo throttle body gears Model years six Nissan Rogue recalls in this guide cover (not every campaign)Range chart: Rogue model years covered by six selected NHTSA recall campaigns named in this guide, not every campaign, 2008-2025; certain 2024 Rogues fall in 25V-437, 26V-080 and 26V-081. The year table and a VIN check give every campaign.201020152020202515V-0322008–2013 · Wire harness; also 2014 RogueSelect22V-0242014–2016 · Under-dash connector corrosion23V-0932014–2020 · Folding (jackknife) key25V-4372021–2024 · VC-Turbo bearings; 2021: run theVIN26V-0802023–2025 · VC-Turbo engine, expands25V-43726V-0812024–2025 · VC-Turbo throttle body gears
Graphic: AutoMotor News. Data: source 22, source 9, source 16, source 15 and 3 more; as of October 12, 2026. Download this graphic (PNG), free to reuse with credit (CC BY 4.0).
Show the data
Model years six Nissan Rogue recalls in this guide cover (not every campaign): data
LabelWhatFromToUnitsSource
15V-032Wire harness; also 2014 Rogue Select200820139
22V-024Under-dash connector corrosion2014201616
23V-093Folding (jackknife) key2014202015
25V-437VC-Turbo bearings; 2021: run the VIN202120246, 22
26V-080VC-Turbo engine, expands 25V-437202320257
26V-081VC-Turbo throttle body gears202420258

The 2023 Rogue and the VC-Turbo recalls

Of the 2023's 733 complaints, 289 list the engine and 123 list engine and engine cooling; 407 list one or both. Across all 733, 86 descriptions mention knocking, a bearing or seizing. The 2022 shows the same pattern on a smaller scale: 183 of its 265 complaints list the engine or engine and engine cooling, second only to the 2023. Of those 265, 178 were filed since Oct. 12, 2024.

Recall 25V-437 covers certain 2021-2024 Rogues, 2019-2020 Altimas, 2019-2022 Infiniti QX50s and 2022 QX55s equipped with VC-Turbo (variable compression turbo) engines. Their engine bearings may have manufacturing defects that can lead to engine failure. NHTSA's record adds that a bearing failure may breach the engine block and let hot oil escape, increasing the risk of an engine fire.

The 25V-437 recall record lists a free engine control module (ECM) software reprogram at the dealer. The record counts 443,899 potentially affected vehicles across every model in the campaign, not only Rogues. NHTSA opened a defect investigation, preliminary evaluation PE23-023, on Dec. 13, 2023, and closed it July 18, 2025, with recall 25V-437. NHTSA's summary closing PE23-023 describes the 25V-437 remedy as an inspection of the engine oil pan for specific metal debris. On the 1.5-liter VC-Turbo, if no debris is found, dealers replace the oil-pan gasket and engine oil and reprogram the ECM, the summary says. If Nissan confirms the debris, dealers replace the engine. The summary adds that Nissan will extend the warranty to 10 years and 120,000 miles for the recall's vehicles once the dealer has done the inspection.

Recall 26V-080 covers certain 2023-2025 Rogues equipped with the 3-cylinder 1.5-liter VC-Turbo engine. Increased temperatures can break down the engine oil, which may cause the engine bearings to seize, NHTSA's record says. Engine failure can cause a loss of drive power, increasing the risk of a crash, the record adds.

Recall 26V-080 expands 25V-437. The 26V-080 record lists an ECM reprogram, a check for diagnostic trouble codes and a test drive. The dealer may also inspect the oil pan for metal debris and replace the engine if necessary, free of charge. NHTSA lists 323,917 potentially affected vehicles for it. Recall 26V-080 lists 2023-2025 Rogues only, so on a 2022 the engine-bearing remedy is the 25V-437 work described above.

A third campaign, 26V-081, covers certain 2024-2025 Rogues with the 1.5-liter VC-Turbo, whose electronic throttle body gears may break. Broken gears can cause a loss of drive power, NHTSA says. Dealers reprogram the ECM and inspect the throttle body, replacing it as necessary, free of charge.

Nissan's press kits list the 1.5-liter VC-Turbo as the standard engine on the 2022, 2023 and 2024 Rogue, and their price lists show it on every trim: S, SV, SL and Platinum. Recall 25V-437 covers only certain 2021-2024 Rogues with that engine, so within 2022-2024 neither the trim nor the year alone tells you whether a car is in it; only the VIN does. Neither the 25V-437 record nor the 26V-080 record tells owners to park outside.

Nissan codes and main dealer work in each Rogue VC-Turbo recall

Nissan's repair-order codes overlap between the VC-Turbo recalls, so read the work description, not just the code.

Table: Nissan codes and main dealer work for Rogue VC-Turbo recalls 25V-437, 26V-080 and 26V-081; all list an ECM reprogram; the 25V-437 oil-pan check is from NHTSA's PE23-023 summary, not the recall record.
What25V-43726V-08026V-081
Nissan codesR25A8/A9, R25B1/B2R25E2, R25E3R25E2, R25E3, R25A9
ECM reprogram Yes Yes, plus DTC check, test drive Yes
Oil pan debris checkIn PE23-023 summary onlyMay inspectNot stated
Engine replacedIf debris found (PE23-023)If necessaryNot stated
Throttle bodyNot statedNot stated Yes, replace as necessary
Graphic: AutoMotor News. Data: source 8, source 6, source 7, source 23; as of October 12, 2026. Download this graphic (PNG), free to reuse with credit (CC BY 4.0).
Show the data
Nissan codes and main dealer work in each Rogue VC-Turbo recall: data
What25V-43726V-08026V-081Source
Nissan codesR25A8/A9, R25B1/B2R25E2, R25E3R25E2, R25E3, R25A96, 7, 8
ECM reprogramYesYes, plus DTC check, test driveYes6, 7, 8
Oil pan debris checkIn PE23-023 summary onlyMay inspectNot stated23, 7
Engine replacedIf debris found (PE23-023)If necessaryNot stated23, 7
Throttle bodyNot statedNot statedYes, replace as necessary8

The 2008-2016 Rogues: CVT complaints and wiring recalls

NHTSA lists one Rogue recall from 2008 to 2024 whose component names the transmission: 15V-775, filed under gear position indication. It covers certain 2015 Rogues whose shift selector knob could let the car leave Park without the brake pedal pressed. The CVT story is in the complaints: descriptions that mention the CVT or the transmission peak on the 2013, at 276. A mention is not a diagnosis: it means the owner's own description used one of those words.

Nissan's 2014 Rogue Select press kit, for the previous-generation Rogue kept on sale, lists a standard Xtronic CVT (continuously variable transmission). In every model year from 2008 to 2016, the power train is the component listed most often, tied with air bags on the 2009.

Among the 2008-2013 years, the 2010 and 2012 have the fewest complaints, 282 and 318. Few of the 2013's reports are recent: 25 of its 610 complaints were filed since Oct. 12, 2024.

Recall 15V-032 covers certain 2008-2013 Rogues built March 7, 2007, to Nov. 26, 2013, and certain 2014 Rogue Selects built Sept. 23, 2013, to July 2, 2014. In the 15V-032 vehicles, snow, water and salt seeping through the driver-side carpet can short a wiring harness connector. NHTSA says an electrical short can cause a vehicle fire. The 2010 has the most fire-flagged complaints of any year, 17. The flag means only that the owner answered yes to NHTSA's fire question; it does not say what burned. A later campaign, 22V-024, covers certain 2014-2016 Rogues whose under-dash connector may corrode from water and salt in the driver's foot well.

2017 and 2018: crashes and automatic emergency braking complaints

The 2017 has the most crash-flagged complaints of any year, 57, and the most complaints reporting an injury, 42. Crash-flagged means the owner answered yes to NHTSA's crash question; the table's crash-or-fire column, 65 for the 2017, also counts yes answers to the fire question. Its complaints most often list NHTSA's "unknown or other" category, in 139, then the power train in 123 and service brakes in 114.

The 2018 has the most complaints listing service brakes, 264, and forward collision avoidance, 174. Only 45 of its complaints mention the transmission or CVT.

Complaints mentioning sudden stops or unexpected braking, by our phrase count, number 67 for the 2017, 157 for the 2018, 69 for the 2019 and 23 for the 2020. The 2019 has 336 complaints and three recall campaigns, but 122 list service brakes and 99 forward collision avoidance. NHTSA lists no recall with a service brake or forward collision component for any 2017-2020 Rogue.

NHTSA did open a preliminary evaluation, PE19-010, on Sept. 9, 2019, into false automatic emergency braking on 2017-2019 Rogues. It followed a petition alleging that the system on 2017-2018 Rogue and Rogue Sport models engaged with nothing in the vehicle's path. NHTSA's investigations file, downloaded Oct. 12, 2026, gives PE19-010 no closing date and no recall number.

2021: ten recalls in a launch year

NHTSA lists 10 recall campaigns for the 2021, tied with the 2014 for the most of any model year. The ten include 25V-437, the VC-Turbo bearing recall. That record lists certain 2021-2024 Rogues equipped with VC-Turbo engines. Nissan's 2021 press kit says every 2021 Rogue has a standard 2.5-liter four-cylinder engine. Even so, NHTSA lists 25V-437 for the 2021, so run the VIN rather than assume a 2021 is outside it.

Recall 21V-068 covers certain 2021 Rogues whose fuel hose may not be secured in the proper position. NHTSA says such a hose may leak, increasing the risk of a fire. Recall 21V-957 covers certain 2021 Rogues with abnormal wear inside the fuel pump, which may overheat and fail. Dealers replace the fuel pump assembly free of charge.

Recall 21V-286 covers certain 2021 Rogues whose rear brake calipers may be missing an internal bushing, letting brake fluid leak. A follow-up, 23V-791, covers two vehicles that were inspected under 21V-286 but did not get new calipers.

NHTSA opened preliminary evaluation PE24-020 into 2021 Rogue inner tie rod failures on Aug. 5, 2024, and closed it Aug. 24, 2026, without a recall. Its closing summary says ODI found a low number of tie rod bending or deformation allegations relative to the vehicles and their exposure, and that closing is not a finding that no defect exists.

Of the 2021's 290 complaints, 62 list the engine or engine and engine cooling, and 150 were filed since Oct. 12, 2024.

Three Rogue generations compared, and the Rogue Select overlap

Nissan redesigned the Rogue for 2014 and kept selling the previous generation as the Rogue Select. The 2021 Rogue was all-new again.

Grouped that way, the raw counts average 387 complaints per model year for 2008-2013, 470 for 2014-2020 and 375 for 2021-2024. The newest group has had the least time on the road. Complaints reporting an injury number 163 for the seven 2014-2020 model years, against 28 for the six 2008-2013 years and 27 for the four 2021-2024 years. The newest group's total is still climbing: 1,105 of its complaints were filed since Oct. 12, 2024.

Of the redesigned Rogue's first three years, the 2015 ranks fifth of 17 by complaints (553), the 2016 sixth (541) and the 2014 seventh (440). The power train is the most-listed component on all three. Descriptions mentioning the CVT or transmission number 93 for the 2014, 111 for the 2015 and 150 for the 2016.

Complaints reporting an injury rise across the three: 14, 23 and 25. The 2016 has two complaints reporting three deaths in all; the 2013 has one reported death, and no other year has any.

In 2014 and 2015, every record NHTSA's API returns for the Rogue Select is also a Rogue record. All 422 and 519 Select records are in the Rogue counts of 440 and 553. Only eight of each year's Rogue complaint descriptions mention the Rogue Select. On the recall side, 15V-032, which covers certain 2014 Rogue Selects, is one of the 2014's 10 campaigns. NHTSA opened preliminary evaluation PE24-017 on May 31, 2024, after field reports that side curtain air bags on 2015 Rogue Select vehicles deploy after a door is shut or slammed. NHTSA's investigations file gives PE24-017 no closing date and no recall number.

The Rogue Sport is filed under its own model name: 374 complaints for 2017-2022, none of them in the Rogue counts.

NHTSA's overall crash rating is 4 stars for the 2011-2021 models and 5 stars for the 2023 and 2024. The 2022 rates 4 or 5 stars by version, and the 2008-2010 models have no overall rating.

Steps before you buy a used Rogue

  1. Get the VIN and run our free check at automotor.news/vin-check/, which shows which safety recalls cover the car's make, model and year. For open status on that exact car, enter the VIN at NHTSA's lookup (nhtsa.gov/recalls) or Nissan's, which federal rules require large automakers to offer and to show each recall not yet completed.
  2. If NHTSA's or Nissan's VIN lookup lists VC-Turbo recall 25V-437, 26V-080 or 26V-081, that recall is open on that car: have the remedy done before the sale. If it lists none on a 2021-2024 Rogue, none is open on that VIN: the car was never included or has had the remedy, and the dealer repair order shows which. On a 2023 or 2024, the VIN lookup shows whether 26V-080, which expands 25V-437, is still open.
  3. Nissan's recall numbers on a repair order: R25A8/A9 and R25B1/B2 for 25V-437; R25E2 and R25E3 for 26V-080; R25E2, R25E3 and R25A9 for 26V-081. Some codes belong to two campaigns, so read the work description, not just the code. For questions about these recalls, NHTSA's records give Nissan's customer service number: 800-647-7261.
  4. On a VC-Turbo car, have a mechanic scan for stored engine trouble codes before you pay, the same check the 26V-080 remedy includes. If it shows stored engine codes or knocks on the test drive, have the listed recall remedy done before the sale, or walk away. Both VC-Turbo engine campaigns' remedies, as NHTSA describes them, can include an oil-pan inspection for metal debris and, if necessary, a new engine.
  5. On a 2022, which 26V-080 does not cover, have the engine codes scanned and listen for knocking on the test drive. Ask for a repair order showing the 25V-437 work, including the oil-pan inspection NHTSA's PE23-023 summary describes. Ask Nissan (800-647-7261) whether the 10-year, 120,000-mile warranty extension that summary describes applies to that VIN.
  6. On a 2008-2016 Rogue, the power train is the most-listed complaint component every year, tied with air bags on the 2009. Test drive from a stop, up a hill and at highway speed, and ask for records of transmission service or CVT repairs. On a 2015 Rogue Select, also ask whether the side curtain air bags have had any dealer work.
  7. On a 2017-2020 Rogue, drive in traffic and on an open road with the driver-assist systems on. Note any braking you did not ask for, and ask whether the forward collision system has had dealer work.
  8. Recall 23V-093 covers certain 2014-2020 Rogues with a jackknife (folding) key that may collapse while driving. Check that the key has the spacer dealers insert under that recall.
  9. If any recall is open, have it done before you buy or make it a condition of the sale. Our guide to checking a car for recalls walks through the lookup.

How we counted Rogue complaints

How we counted Rogue complaints

We downloaded every complaint, recall and crash-rating record NHTSA's public API returned for the Nissan Rogue, model years 2008 to 2024, on Oct. 12, 2026, and counted them with a Python script. Each row of our CSV carries its exact queries; the 2023 complaints query, for example, is https://api.nhtsa.gov/complaints/complaintsByVehicle?make=NISSAN&model=ROGUE&modelYear=2023. NHTSA splits the 2018 Rogue into two vehicle entries, the original (609 complaints) and a "Later Release" (59), and we count both, 668 complaints in all. Of the Later Release entry's 59 complaints, 56 were filed since Oct. 12, 2024, against 28 of the original's 609. We also searched NHTSA's defect investigations file, FLAT_INV.zip on static.nhtsa.gov, for every Nissan Rogue row.

A complaint counts as crash or fire when the owner answered yes to NHTSA's crash question or its fire question. An injury complaint reports at least one injury (numberOfInjuries above zero); deaths are the sum of numberOfDeaths. Recent means filed on or after Oct. 12, 2024, 24 months before the pull. A recall campaign counts once in every model year NHTSA lists it for, so one campaign can appear under several years.

Component counts use NHTSA's component names and count a complaint once per component group; split names such as "service brakes, hydraulic" count with their group. Mention counts search each complaint's description, ignoring case, with the patterns below; they count words, not confirmed defects, and we do not quote owners.

The counts are raw, not adjusted for sales or vehicle age, and the 2014 and 2015 counts may include Rogue Select records, as described above. The Rogue Select query returns complaints filed up to July 28, 2025, for the 2014 and July 17, 2025, for the 2015. Rogue complaints filed after those dates are not in the Select query, so the overlap check covers filings up to those dates. Download nissan-rogue-nhtsa-by-model-year.csv for one row per year and nissan-rogue-nhtsa-summary.csv for the totals and findings quoted on this page.

  • CVT or transmission: \bcvt\b|transmission|continuously variable
  • Sudden stops or unexpected braking: phantom brak|false brak|brak\w*\W+(\w+\W+){0,4}(on its own|by itself|for no reason|without (any )?(reason|warning|cause))|(unexpected\w*|sudden\w*|random\w*|unintended|unintentional\w*)\W+(\w+\W+){0,2}(brak|stop)|(emergency|automatic) br(a|ea)k\w*\W+(\w+\W+){0,4}(activat|engag|kick|deploy|appl|slam)\w*
  • Engine knock, bearing or seizure: knock|bearing|seiz

Frequently asked questions

Which Nissan Rogue years have CVT problems?

By owners' reports, the 2013 most of all, with 276 complaints mentioning the CVT or transmission, followed by the 2011 (172), 2016 (150), 2008 (144) and 2012 (140). From the 2018 on, none is above 50 (the 2023 has 50). The one Rogue recall NHTSA files under the transmission, 15V-775, is for gear position indication, so on an older Rogue ask for the transmission's repair history.

Is the 2023 Nissan Rogue engine recall fixed?

The free remedies are out: NHTSA's records say owner letters for 25V-437 and 26V-080 were mailed April 8, 2026. The 2023 is in both campaigns, and the remedies NHTSA describes for them include an ECM reprogram, an oil-pan inspection for metal debris and, if needed, a new engine. A given car is fixed only when NHTSA's or Nissan's VIN lookup shows no open recall and its repair order lists the work.

Is the 2022 Nissan Rogue a good year?

NHTSA's records give the 2022 the second-most engine complaints of any Rogue year, 183 of its 265, and 178 of its complaints were filed since Oct. 12, 2024. It is in recall 25V-437 but not 26V-080, so ask for a repair order showing the 25V-437 work described above, oil-pan inspection included. Run its VIN at NHTSA or Nissan before you buy to see whether that recall is still open.

What is the best used Nissan Rogue year?

Start with the 2020: by NHTSA's records it has the fewest complaints, 152, one recall campaign, 23V-093, for the folding key, and a 4-star overall crash rating. But forward collision avoidance is its most-listed component, in 56 of 152 complaints, and 23 mention sudden stops or unexpected braking. The 2024's lower count comes with VC-Turbo recalls in 25V-437, 26V-080 and 26V-081, so no low count clears a car before its VIN check and inspection.

Last updated .

This story was prepared with AI assistance and fact-checked by our AI review process against its sources, then reviewed by Paul Grice before publication. Our AI policy.

Sources

All accessed 2026-10-12.

  1. NHTSA complaints API: 2023 Nissan Rogue (one of 17 per-year queries; every query URL is in the data file) (primary source).
  2. NHTSA recalls API: 2023 Nissan Rogue (one of 17 per-year queries; every query URL is in the data file) (primary source).
  3. NHTSA SafetyRatings API: 2023 Nissan Rogue (one of 17 per-year queries) (primary source).
  4. NHTSA complaints file: field descriptions (CMPL.txt) (primary source).
  5. 49 CFR 573.15: Public availability of motor vehicle recall information (eCFR) (primary source).
  6. NHTSA recall 25V-437: VC-Turbo engine bearings (campaign record) (primary source).
  7. NHTSA recall 26V-080: 2023-2025 Rogue 1.5L VC-Turbo engine (campaign record) (primary source).
  8. NHTSA recall 26V-081: 2024-2025 Rogue throttle body gears (campaign record) (primary source).
  9. NHTSA recall 15V-032: 2008-2013 Rogue and 2014 Rogue Select harness connector (campaign record) (primary source).
  10. NHTSA recall 15V-775: 2015 Rogue shift selector knob (campaign record) (primary source).
  11. NHTSA recall 21V-957: 2021 Rogue fuel pump (campaign record) (primary source).
  12. NHTSA recall 21V-068: 2021 Rogue fuel hose (campaign record) (primary source).
  13. NHTSA recall 21V-286: 2021 Rogue rear brake calipers (campaign record) (primary source).
  14. NHTSA recall 23V-791: 2021 Rogue rear brake calipers (campaign record) (primary source).
  15. NHTSA recall 23V-093: 2014-2020 Rogue jackknife key (campaign record) (primary source).
  16. NHTSA recall 22V-024: 2014-2016 Rogue under-dash connector (campaign record) (primary source).
  17. Nissan: 2014 Nissan Rogue Select press kit (Jan. 23, 2014) (primary source).
  18. Nissan: 2021 Nissan Rogue press kit (July 8, 2020) (primary source).
  19. NHTSA complaints API: 2014 Nissan Rogue Select (variant query) (primary source).
  20. NHTSA complaints API: 2019 Nissan Rogue Sport (variant query; every variant query URL is in the data file) (primary source).
  21. NHTSA Office of Defects Investigation: defect investigations file (FLAT_INV), Nissan Rogue rows (primary source).
  22. NHTSA vehicles API: 2018 Nissan Rogue vehicle entries and their complaints (byYmmt; lists the original and Later Release entries) (primary source).
  23. Nissan: 2022 Nissan Rogue press kit (Nov. 17, 2021) (primary source).
  24. Nissan: 2023 Nissan Rogue press kit (Aug. 30, 2022) (primary source).
  25. Nissan: 2024 Nissan Rogue press kit (pricing Jan. 10, 2024) (primary source).
  26. AutoMotor News data: NHTSA complaints, recalls and ratings per Nissan Rogue model year, 2008-2024 (nissan-rogue-nhtsa-by-model-year.csv) (our analysis of source 1, source 2, source 3 and source 24).
  27. AutoMotor News data: Nissan Rogue totals, rankings and variant checks behind this page (nissan-rogue-nhtsa-summary.csv) (our analysis of source 1, source 2, source 19, source 20 and source 24).
  28. AutoMotor News: Free VIN and recall check (what our check shows) (our analysis of source 2).